Sophomore Slump? Not a Chance. (From Under the Cork Tree)

I like Fall Out Boy. I like them a lot. Which is why I picked this week’s record to be From Under the Cork Tree by Fall Out Boy. All-in-all the album is a great sophomore attempt. It’s much like their first album, Take This to Your Grave, but it’s also very different.

As far as the songs themselves go, they’re generally the same, with a few variations. My personal favourites have to be “Our Lawyer Made Us Change the Name of This Song So We Wouldn’t Get Sued”, “Sugar, We’re Goin’ Down”, and “XO.” What really stand out to me, though, are the lyrics. Some of my favourite lines are, “The best part of ‘believe’ is the ‘lie'”, “The only thing worse than not knowing, is you thinking that I don’t know”, and “we’re only liars, but we’re the best/we’re only good for the latest trends.”

If you like good, solid punk-rock music like I do, you’ll love this album. From the very first chord of the very first track I was hooked, and if you haven’t really heard much Fall Out Boy, this is a good place to get started. In my opinion, From Under the Cork Tree is an excellent sophomore attempt.

Peace, love, and waffles,
Nova.

HEY! Are you reading this? This part under the video? Well if you are, I have a couple quick things to say.
FIRST: Is there an album you want me to review? If there is and I have it, I’ll gladly give it a try. If I don’t have it, and you can find a way to get it to me, do so!
SECOND: Going to a concert in the near future? Tell me! Contact me in the comments if you’re going to a concert and willing to review it for me. Then I’ll love you forever.
THIRD: Do you wanna be part of my team? I honestly don’t want to do this by myself, so if you want to drop me a line and I’ll figure out a place for you.

And THAT, is all.
[btw, Lee, if you’re reading this, do you have time to make me a header, s’il vous plait? I’ll love you forever!]

~ by penguinova on February 8, 2010.

One Response to “Sophomore Slump? Not a Chance. (From Under the Cork Tree)”

  1. You should review Hot Fuss by Killers and X&Y by Coldplay.

Leave a comment